EISA Overview

Energy Independence and Security Act (EISA) Legislation

EISA 2007

The Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 was crafted to “move the United States toward greater energy independence and security, to increase the production of clean renewable fuels, to increase the efficiency of products, buildings and vehicles, to promote research on and deploy greenhouse gas capture and storage options."

According the a U.S. Energy Department estimate, there are more than 13.5 million electric motors in U.S. industrial process operations today.  Manufacturing alone spends more than $33 billion to keep those motors running, accounting for nearly 70% of all electricity in the industry.*

Federal Legislation & Motor Efficiency

The 300-page bill, which becomes law on December 19, 2010, has a broad impact on energy usage in many industries.  While only a few pages apply to motor manufacturers, this legislation has a major impact on the types of motors that will be produced after December 19, 2010, requiring the vast majority of new electric motors to meet NEMA Premium Efficiency standards.

The legislation builds on the Energy Policy and Conservation Act of 1992 (EPAct 92), which established requirements for minimum, nominal, full-load motor efficiency ratings for low-voltage, general-purpose (Subtype I) and three-phase electric motors from 1—200 horsepower. EPAct 2005 took that legislation a step further by requiring all new federal motor purchases to meet NEMA Premium efficiency ratings.

EISA Requirements

EISA impacts not only the required efficiency standards for Subtype I electric motors, it creates a new designation of General Purpose Electric Motors (Subtype II) that was not covered by EPAct.

  • Subtype I Motors:  General purpose motors as defined in EPAct 92, from 1 – 200 hp, must meet or exceed Premium Efficiency standards as detailed in NEMA MG1, Table 12-12.
  • Subtype II Motors:  New classification of general-purpose motors that must comply with NEMA Premium efficiency standards.  These motors were previously exempt from EPAct 92 compliance.  The motors incorporate design elements of Subtype I general-purpose motors are configured as one of the following:
    • U-Frame Motor
    • NEMA Design C Motor
    • Close-Coupled Pump Motor
    • Footless Motor
    • Vertical Solid Shaft Normal Thrust Motor (as tested in a horizontal configuration)
    • Eight-Pole (900 RPM) Motor
    • Polyphase Motors with voltage of not more than 600 volts (other than 240 or 460V)
  • Exemptions
    • Fire pump motors are exempt from NEMA Premium Efficiency standards, but must meet efficiency as defined in NEMA MG-1 (2006)
    • NEMA Design B, general purpose electric motor, with a power rating 200 – 500 HP500, must meet a nominal full-load efficiency that is not less than as defined in NEMA MG–1 (2006) Table 12–11
    • Additional Exemptions:
      • Two-digit NEMA frame (ex. 48 or 56 frame)
      • Single-phase S
      • 50 Hertz
      • Multi-speed
      • Design D (high torque)
      • Special shaft extension
      • DC
      • Vertical high thrust
      • Special
      • Voltages greater than 600V
      • Integral gear motor or brake motor designs

From identifying the best replacement motor to calculating your cost savings by upgrading to Premium Efficiency motors, The Motor Specialist is here to help.